Tomorrow: Evangelion (Platinum)

Evangelion: Platinum

Evangelion: Platinum

Information from Anime News Network:


Alternative title: Evangelion

Shin Seiki Evangelion (Japanese)

新世紀エヴァンゲリオン (Romaji)

Genres: action, drama, psychological, science fiction

Themes: Mecha, Military, post-apocalyptic,

Plot Summary:

At the age of 14 Shinji Ikari is summoned by his father to the city of Neo Tokyo-3 after several years of separation. There he unwillingly accepts the task of becoming the pilot of a giant robot by the name EVA01 and protect the world from the enigmatic invaders known as “angels.” Even though he repeatedly questions why he has accepted this mission from his estranged and cold father, his doing so helps him to gradually accept himself. However, why exactly are the angels attacking and what are his father’s true intentions are yet to be unraveled.


Review:


Well, first things first- I already watched Evangelion way back, when it’s very very popular. But I can’t remember anything decent except the Eva going berserk so I decided to watch it again. This time though, I’m watching the Platinum Edition.


Story- I can still remember bits of Evangelion… but not much. SO I’ll be fair and give a review for those episodes I re-watched, which are episodes 1-4. The first episode was so short and uneventful. Which sucks. Oh, when I say uneventful, I didn’t mean that there weren’t an Angel attacking and destroying stuff. I didn’t mean no bombs and missiles either. I just meant that Shinji didn’t get much action. God, he was just going EMO. Also, in the first episode, Rei was introduced but even though she’s mysterious she didn’t really steal any moment in my mind. As for the next episodes, I thin that the emo moments aren’t in the right timing. There are times that I want to know how he reacts, thinks about the world ‘on his back’ but nada! And when I want action, they show me his emo moments! Duh?!


Anyway, moving on- The story is very interesting. I’ll update this if it gets better. For now- 7/10.


Characters- Well, no one likable at the moment. Shinji is not so manly and as I said he’s so emo. But giving it a chance, I’ll say 8/10.


Art- Well, thank God for Platinum Edition! I love the new improved version! Shinji is no bishie but he’s just fine. And from what I saw when my sister is watching the old one… Definitely better. Score- 8.5/10


Over all – 7.8/10 Well Done.


Tomorrow:


Why just me?


How sad would it be to be a 14 year old saviour of the world and mankind? What happens if you mess up?


Can I really blame Shinji for being emotional most of the time?


What if tomorrow the world falls into destruction Can…no, WILL we entrust our lives to a 14 year old boy, even if he’s capable?

2 thoughts on “Tomorrow: Evangelion (Platinum)

  1. Hi. I’m a very big fan of the series, but unfortunately had been out of the anime stuff lately. What’s the big difference of this version over the original series?

    Thanks. : )

Leave a Reply

