My 10 Favorite Live Actions Ctd: Antique Bakery

 

Antique Bakery
Antique Bakery
Alternative Titles
Synonym: Antique
Korean: 서양골동양과자점 앤티크
          Seoyang Goldong Yang-gwaja-jeom-Antique

Other Information
Director: Min Gyu Dong

Cast
Joo Ji Hoon as Kim Jin Hyeok (Tachibana)
Kim Jae Wook as Min Seon Woo (Ono)
Yoo Ah In as Yang Ki Beom (Eiji)
Choi Ji Ho as Nam Soo Yeong (Chikage)

Synopsis

A high school crush, a world-class pastry chef, a former middle-weight boxing champion…and a whole lot of cake! Seon Woo has come a long way since the agonizing day in high school when he confessed his love to handsome Min Kyung. Now, some 14 years later Seon Woo, a world-class pastry chef and gay playboy has it all. No man can resist Seon Woo’s charms (or his cooking skills!) but he has just found a new position under a man named Jin Hyeok. Can this be the only man who resisted his charms, and if so, will the man who once snubbed the “gay of demonic charm” Seon Woo get his just desserts? And how in the heck did a former middleweight boxing champion wind up as Seon Woo’s cake boy?

Review
I can’t really give this the review i want if I don’t compare it to the manga so bear with me.
STORY. The story followed the manga. Except for the fact that Seo Woo still have feelings for Jin Hyeok and the latter seems return his feelings. I like this better of course! But some of the things that happened in the manga weren’t there. Which is okay. Coz that way, the main characters were given more development. This is for the CHARACTERS as well. Also in the manga, Jin Hyeok’s feelings for what happened to him in the past is not really that clear. And Ono, well, his past is more explained in the manga, but his “love” for Jin Hyeok is certainly something that made the story better. But, the other two main characters lives were not that explored which is also understandable coz it’s only a film, but I would h’ve preffered it if I got to know them better. 
This film also made me understand the story more and it brought closure to the story. The thing about the manga is it’s like just giving the chapters in random order that it’s quite confusing.
I also like it coz its funny. And the musical thing is also cool. And I was all kilig with the kissing scenes and Se Woo’s advances to Jin Hyeok. And I have to add, they are both so HOT!!! I’m so thrilled when they were flirting!!!
The acting of the actors are also good, the quality of the FILM as well. I don’t really have complains, except it’s short. And it still made me sad. Why do they have to leave?!
SCORES: Over all: 9/10
STORY– Great. 9/10
CHARACTERS– Good development and great actors. Funny. But some of the main character and their story weren’t that developed. Still, 8.5/10
FILM. It made Antique Bakery a better story and it made fun. Plus, HOT GUYS!! Not like those ugly ones in the manga!!! 8.5/10
I know it’s short but I did enjoy it. More than any other bl films I had watched. It made me sad. And it’s original in the sense that no one died, right?

Leave a comment