xxxholic: ANOTHERHOLiC

xxxholic: ANOTHERHOLiC Novel

xxxholic: ANOTHERHOLiC Novel

Synopsis

othing could have thrilled Kimihiro more than stumbling upon the bizarre wish-granting shop of the beautiful but unnerving Yûko Ichihara, who solemnly promises to make the spirits plaguing Kimihiro go away just as soon as her fee–rendered in daily afternoon chores at her shop–is paid in full.

Of course, the thrill wears off as soon as Kimihiro realizes that his payment plan bears a disturbing resemblance to indentured servitude . . . eternal indentured servitude. Still he soldiers on, ready for whatever number of adventures lie ahead. But in Kimihiro’s case, three may not be the charm!

His first assignment–to procure a pair of fake eyeglasses–is exceptionally pointless, even by Yûko’s standards. Or at least it seems that way, until Kimihiro watches a woman throw herself into traffic. He soon discovers that the doors of bespectacled perception can swing both ways.

Next, when a classmate seeks help solving a mystery involving text messages from the dead, Kimihiro is glad to play Sherlock. But he must turn to Yûko to determine whether the root of the riddle is otherworldly shenanigans, deceit, or murder.

Finally, however ready, willing, and able Kimihiro thinks he is to face the most unusual of circumstances, he still finds himself completely bewildered by the stranger who chases away his darkest spirits, condemns Yûko as a craven charlatan, and offers Kimihiro a way out of his preternatural predicament–and a fortune besides.

Review

Well, I waited for more than two weeks for this. Our library in Hilllcrest High NZ has a copy and a Chinese Girl borrowed it. Man, she’s so slow on reading it! Anyway, my sister even went with her in the library just to make sure she got it first. ANyway, she borrowed it and I’m reading it.

STORY. Well, it kinda retell Watanuki and Yuuko’s first encounter with each other and a story of one girl who has “urges” to violate taboo. That’s the first part. The one I’m reading currently. Before you say that I’m so slow at reading stuff, let me tell you that I just got home from school and I have a bad headache.

Anyway, I’ll update this later but as of now, I’ll give it a 7/10. I like the switching of views and the quotes. The story is definitely interesting and I’m sure after I’m done the minimum I can give to this novel is 8/10. But the downside is, some parts were not fully explained. I mean it sudden;y changes view points and somebody just gets mention and stuff. So careful.

CHARACTERS. Yuuko was described in a good way. Her eyes were mostly mentioned in the start. Watanuki was shown/described as more reluctant and a complainer. The girl, Nurie, is definitely interesting. Score: 8/10

STYLE AND THE NOVEL. Well, it’s good. I like its way of writing. Suggestive and a little confusing but really interesting.

OVER ALL: As of now, 7.5/10
Well, I’m up to chapter 3 now. And I decided to change the whole review. Not what I said, but the order. I also decided to keep that above to read years from now.

Confusing explanations from Yuko and Watanuki’s idiotic responses, Twisted explanations explained in a manner that will have you thinking, Realization about the worlds, both ours and the others’, and our society… All of these are xxxholic’s very own “cliches.” And it’s definitely here.

The stories are twisted in it’s very unique way, it’s also something that we might be able to relate to… I know, coz I can. Besides the involvement of the readers, some parts that are also in the manga were given more details. Like how Watanuki felt when Yuko said she can cure him. What was he thinking? What were his thoughts? Did he even fully doubted her? These were not in the manga. Yuko said, I can’t grant your wish.” Watanuki said, I”ll work for you instantly! Just like that, then the other people’s story and wishes were shown. But here, it was different. Even small details can make something better.

As I said earlier, the confusing explanations and twisted ideas are still here. I’m happy for that. And as I said before, the point of view suddenly changes but once you get used to it, it’s very easy to follow. It’s also interesting in that way.

CHARACTERS. Yuko and Watanuki retained their own “uniqueness.” That’s all I can say for them. For the other characters, they are very interesting and different. Their views, situations, are something that as I said earlier, not very common. Not common at all, but in it’s own way, can make you relate to it.

NOVEL. I like it. But there are many parts were you can’t relate coz it’s something about Japan. I mean, not just something SOMETHING. It’s like if it’s a novel in the internet, it has many links. And it’s tiring to constantly stray your eyes away from the story to know what that means.

Scores: STORY- 9/10
CHARACTERS- 9/10
NOVEL- 7/10
OVER ALL- 8/10


Leave a Reply

