Boys Love, Shounen-ai, or simply Yaoi.

Boys loves girl. Girl loves boy. End; Geeky Girl loves cute boy. Cute boys falls for geeky girl. End; Nerdy guy falls for popular girl. Girl falls for guy. End; Rich guy fell for poor girl. Girl fall for guy. Parents say no. Beginning. Middle. End; Girl likes guy. Guy says no, can do. Girls says whatever, finds another. The first guy says take me back. Girl says no can do. Second guy and girl lives happily. End.

Typical story line of the typical pairing. A GUY and A GIRL. GIRL+GUY=LOVE

NOT!!!

I’ve been watching anime, movies, TV shows, anything that can be watched since I was a kid. My life revolves around the things I can watch. Heck, when I was in the Philippines, I study really hard to get in the Top 10 of my whole grade for money, so I can buy DVDs!  But you know, there’s a downside. I can’t watch a movie now without criticizing it or without understanding it too deeply. Since, I’ve watch a lot of movies, anime, and etc. I can’t help but be irritated with “cliché.” For me, a guy to a girl, is so common, I can, WOULD, puke!

Then came Boys Love or BL. God, I was hooked! My first BL encounter is Gravitation. Don’t get me wrong. I don’t mean there’s no gays outside in the street in the Philippines! I mean, it’s the first one I didn’t turn away or something. I was actually keen to watch it. I begged my brother to ask his classmate to lend us her CDs. When I was done watching it, I realized something that makes me regret my decision long ago. Until now. There’s this girl in my class. Were close before but kinda fell apart. Anyway, she always asks me if I want to borrow Yaoi stuff from her, I said firmly NO. God, I hate myself for doing that! I mean, I could’ve entered this world a lot earlier if I said yes!!

Putting that aside, after watching Gravitation, I was thirsty for more. Like a Vampire who just tasted blood, the feeling of having something new but still afraid of it. But even with that fear you still thirst for it. Look for it.


So I tried searching stuff. Then one day, bro bought this DVD with many Korean Dramas and we saw one BL. It’s called Bungee Jumping of Their Own. I was traumatized. I could hardly watch any BL for a while. Seriously. It’s not because it’s ugly or it has really weird sex scenes. No! That’s not it! It was the face, I think. Coz the story is great and I accepted homosexuality in my mind. And it’s not as if my heart can think by its own so. Yeah.

That’s when I realized, I’m not ready yet. I mean, anime and manga is fine. I didn’t really understand why. But now, I actually know why.

Guys who look like girls. Guys who are gay but doesn’t act or pretend to be a girl. That’s what I like. I hate transvestites. I swear I could kill them.

Anyway, back in Pinas, I only watch Shounen Ai. Meaning: BL with NO sex scenes. I’m a decent girl and I don’t have a green mind!

I totally changed here in NZ. I spent most of my time reading manga, not watching anime. Since internet connection is slow. My first BL Manga here is Only The Ring Finger Knows. Then, I don’t know why. Maybe because of Othello, I changed. I actually read and watch Yaoi now.

Anyway, in defense from BL Haters, we are just tired of the same thing over and over again. BL have rape, yes, most of the time. But so what?! We don’t actually read it for the H things. At least not all of us. What we want from it are the depth of most stories, the unexplainable “Kilig” factor it has and the super hot guys!

With this post, I just want to say, Thanks BL. You saved me from my hell… but then, put me in another one.

I’m posting a post from my old blog here. It has links to a site where there are some database about really good mangaka and their works.

Leave a Reply

