Yu-Gi-Oh

Yu-Gi-Oh

Yu-Gi-Oh

Synopsis:

10th grader Yugi spent most of his time alone playing games–until he solved the Millennium Puzzle, a mysterious Egyptian artifact! Possessed by the puzzle, Yugi becomes Yu-Gi-Oh, the King of Games, and challenges evil-doers to the Shadow Games–weird games with high stakes and high risks! These graphic novels contain new stories not seen in the anime, including the origin of Yugi and his friends!

Review:

I’d been skipping this manga for years even though I had already watched the anime. I wasn’t a big fan of manga then. I just started last last year. Before I don’t even know manga existed. Thanks Manga Fox and NZ!

Anyway, first, STORY. Now, come on! How can I give it any lower than 9/10? Huh? Tell me?! The card games are of course not original. I think they must have poker or something then but MONSTERS from cards? Pharaoh from Ancient Egypt turned little nerdy kid? Come on, again, even you can’t say no to that!

Okay. I’m sounding like some freaky person now. Going back to my review, I know this is a little childish or something for you. But it’s not. I mean, I’m 14 now – and not that I don’t consider myself a child or anything, but I still enjoy it. It’s not just about cards and violence and fighting. It’s actually about friendship. Plus I’m really really a big fun of reincarnation and sports! So, yeah, story is original. It’s obvious right? It created a new game.

CHARACTERS . The characters are many. I think I should be a little understanding since it has 38 volumes. So… wait. Have I told you that I’d only read Volume 1, 17, 21, 22, 23 of this manga? My sources are not great for this, you know. But judging from the things I’ve read and the other sources I have, character development won’t be a problem. Starting from Yugi, a wimpy AND nerdy kid who doesn’t have friends except for Anzu, who turned to a Duel King with REAL friends. Then there’s Jonouchi, a wannabe delinquent who became a reliable friend and a true duelist just by the end of Volume 21.

Score: 8/10

ART. Heh. Now this is tricky. The first volume is truly revolting. I mean, I can’t even believe that I’d read it. I’ll definitely give it a 4/10! Sorry Kazuki-san! Anyway, since I told you I’d only read Volumes 1, 17, 21, 22, 23, I can’t tell you where it started to change. But boy did it change! Volume 17’s art is worth a 7/10. I would have given it 8/10 but because it’s a shounen, gamy manga, the drawings are kinda hard to understand sometimes.

OVER ALL: 8/10. But even though I really enjoyed it, I can’t really say the same thing if you are not a fan of this genre. I mean, I’m an all around kind of girl. I watch anything, read anything, do anything-except drugs, sex,¬†cigarettes, beer, or stuff like that- as long as it’s interesting. So, I was able to enjoy it and even give it a 8/10. If you are not a fan, ¬†don’t really recommend it BUT who knows? It might get you hook!
Oh, yeah! By the way, the info is from MyAnimeList.
One thought on “Yu-Gi-Oh

Leave a Reply

